Breaking News
More () »

President declares 3 northern Arizona counties federal disaster areas

The designation will help Apache, Coconino and Navajo counties recover from July flooding

ARIZONA, USA — The White House announced Monday that Apache, Coconino and Navajo counties will be declared disaster areas, making them eligible for federal dollars. 

Those dollars can be used along with local government dollars for emergency work and repairing or replacing facilities damaged during a series of severe storms between July 22 and July 24.

This year is the third wettest monsoon season in those areas since the National Weather Service began tracking the season in 1895, outpacing last year's dry spell by nearly 11 inches of rain.

At times this season, the storms have been so extreme they resulted in two people dead and others needing rescue near Glia Bend. 

Officials in northern Arizona even reported historic levels of rainfall on the burn scar of a previous large wildfire.

The monsoon season runs from Jun. 15 to Sept. 30.

Below are tweets of extreme flooding that have taken place during this monsoon season.

RELATED: Historic rainfall on Flagstaff area burn scar spurs flooding

12 News on YouTube

Before You Leave, Check This Out