Breaking News
More () »

Arizona electors confirm 11 votes for President-elect Joe Biden

Electors represent the 11 electoral college votes for Arizona's presidential election now that the state's results have been certified.

ARIZONA, USA — The final step in Arizona’s election of president and vice-president is complete. 

The state’s 11 electoral votes will go to President-elect Joe Biden and Vice President-elect Kamala Harris after a signing ceremony Monday morning at the Phoenix Convention Center.

Secretary of State Katie Hobbs said before the electors cast their votes that this year saw an “artificial shadow cast over the process in the form of baseless accusations of misconduct and fraud.”

Electors included Tucson Mayor Regina Romero, Arizona Corporation Commissioner Sandra Kennedy and Navajo Nation President Jonathan Nez.

“We are transitioning to healing, to coming together,” said Nez.

But there are still signs of political division.

Dozens of legal challenges by President Donald Trump have failed all levels of the court system in several states, including Arizona. But elected Republicans supporting Trump continue claiming the election was “stolen.”

Just two hours before this ceremony, incoming Arizona State Senator Wendy Rogers, who will represent large swaths of Arizona’s north country, tweeted “Buy more ammo.”

Rogers later wrote on Twitter she is proud to defend the Second Amendment and she accused critics who questioned the timing of the tweet for being presumptuous and paranoid. But such a tweet is impossible to ignore.

The Arizona Republican Party tweeted earlier this month messages suggesting Trump followers should be prepared to be martyrs, and election officials around the country have become victims of threats. 

12 News asked Hobbs about Rogers’ tweet.

“I’ve had actual threats to my life and this just needs to stop. This is not okay. This is not how people respond to free and fair elections in our country,” Hobbs said.

The next significant date for the election is Jan. 6. That is when the president of the Senate, Vice President Mike Pence, opens the votes of the electors and officially counts the votes. 

Arizona's 11 Democratic state electors are:     

Steve Gallardo:
A Democratic member of Maricopa County's Board of Supervisors representing District 5.

Luis Alberto Heredia:
Executive Director of the Arizona Education Association and DNC Executive Committee member.

Constance Jackson:
President of Pinal County's chapter of the NAACP.

Sandra D. Kennedy:
Arizona Corporation Commissioner.    

Stephen Roe Lewis:
Gila River Indian Community Governor.    

James McLaughlin:
Arizona American Federation of Labor and Congress of Industrial Organizations President.  

Jonathan Nez:
Navajo Nation President.  

Ned Norris:
Tohono O'odham Nation Chairman.

Regina Romero:
City of Tuscon Mayor.

Felecia Rotellini:
Arizona Democratic Party Chair.

Fred Yamashita:
Arizona American Federation of Labor and Congress of Industrial Organizations Executive Director. 

You can watch the event here. 

Before You Leave, Check This Out