x
Breaking News
More () »

Using your cell phone while driving could soon be illegal in Surprise

If the proposal in Surprise is passed, police could pull over drivers and issue a $250 fine for the first offense.

PHOENIX — Surprise lawmakers will soon be discussing a proposal to ban the use of hand-held devices while driving, which would be the strictest measure of its kind in the Valley.

Arizona is one of three states where using a hand-held device and driving remain legal for all or some drivers state-wide.

However, several counties and cities individually in the state ban the use of hand-held devices while driving including Coconino and Pima counties, Oro Valley, Sedona and Tucson. Here in the Valley, Tempe has a distracted driving law while Fountain Hills and Phoenix, ban texting while driving, but not overall hand-held phone use.

“We know that six in 10 crashes involving teen drivers involve some form of a wireless communication device like a cell phone," said Michelle Donati with AAA Arizona.

If the proposal in Surprise is passed, police could pull over drivers and issue a $250 fine for the first offense.

It is important to note that we do have one state-wide ban that takes effect July 1st of this year. Senate Bill 1080 prohibits teenagers within the first six months of driving after they get their license, or until they reach the age of 18 from using hand-held devices while driving. It also applies to teens driving under a learner’s permit.

Stay with 12 News for updates on the Surprise cell-phone ban proposal.