Arizona joins a growing number of states Saturday that require employers to provide paid sick leave to employees.
The sick leave portion of Arizona's Proposition 206, which passed in November, applies to all employers and goes into effect Saturday.
The law impacts almost every single employee, including part-time workers.
Here's how it works: Employees get one hour of sick time for every 30 hours worked.
That means mathematically you get a full day of sick time after working 30 full-day shifts.
If your company has more than 15 employees, you qualify for a minimum of 40 hours of sick time every year, according to the new law. If your company has fewer than 15 employees, you'll get a minimum of 24 hours of sick time.
The law does not require a note for time off, unless you call in sick three straight days.
The law lets employees use paid sick leave for medical attention, services from a domestic violence program, counseling, relocation or legal services that may be required after experiencing domestic abuse.
Employees have to wait 90 days after starting a new job to use paid sick time.
© 2017 KPNX-TV